Tuesday, October 6, 2009
a minor setback
Well I've had a minor setback but it happens. The neat thing is that this time it WAS different and I handled myself differently as well. I've been off program by choice over the past few weeks due to various reasons, like out of town visitors, touring with Brad Paisley and just plain old being lazy. Here's the difference.... everytime I made a poor choice of what to eat, I knew it would eventually catch up with me on the scale and I was really okay with that. I mean okay in that I knew I was gonna have to get back to hard work to get it back off. I didnt have that same old resigned feeling, like oh well I failed again and I may as well give up and eat this and that. No, this time I made the conscious choice in my behavior. For example, I really am fond of, no I love mozzarella sticks from Denny's and I've had them like 3 times since! Every time I ate one of those, I was thinking, oh my I cant even imagine how many points these are, lol. The difference is that I "allowed" myself the day off to enjoy something decadent, albeit, wayyy too many points. I knew what was gonna happen when I did get back to weigh in. Well last night I went to weigh in and yep! as I suspected, I gained 3.2 lbs. So now I have some hard work ahead of me but I already knew that so I am ready to go. Today was a good day. I started back logging my food, took my vitamins and worked on getting all my water in and I feel good about all of it. Truthfully, I missed drinking my daily water. I think being honest with yourself is one key here. I knew, I admitted and I accepted and thats the key for me. I felt like I was on vacation and I deliberately gave myself a break and for me, that's okay. Now there are gonna be some people who might say or think, no if you are really committed, you wouldnt stray but what I'm trying to do is keep it real for me. I hope that makes sense. Now I'm all back to being anxious again about working hard and weighing back in. Oh, I did forget one thing today and that was my pedometer, I'll start that again tomorrow and start working on my daily step count. So here we go, one more step in the right direction, no pun intended, lol.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Yeah, I've been waiting for an update. I think you are on to something with the be honest with yourself and allowing yourself a vacation and then back to work, that seems realistic to me. It does no good to beat yourself up, better to allow and plan for it. Keep it up. And, keep posting. You are inspiring and gives me hope that I can get going on this weight loss journey too
ReplyDeleteThank you very much for you comment, believe me your comments back help keep me motivated as well.
ReplyDeleteKeep up the good work. Keep updating. You have already helped me.
ReplyDeleteThanks Lindy for updating. I know that you will be alright. You have the motivation to continue. You have motivated me in the right direction.
ReplyDelete