Wednesday, September 16, 2009

my step count

Well I dont have much to say today but I wanted to get something in for today.  My progress has been good.  I'm logging my food, drinking my water and I think I even increased my step count today.  Yayy me. 


Step count:  6,119  (good!)

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

10,000 steps

Wow, 10,000 steps they say?  Well I've looked at this both ways.  One way of thinking, are they crazy?  Thats alot of steps!  Second, aww thats nothing, no problem.  Boy am I shocked!!! and a little disappointed but at least now I know.  Okay there have been numerous publications and such that says the average person should or does walk about 10, 000 steps per day.  When they put it that way, I thought surely I am in there with the norm, lol.  Wrong!  What a rude awakening, lol.  I was not anywhere near that 10,000 step mark!  Actually I barely hit the 3,000 step mark! Unbelievable!  Now get this, the literature says that with the average stride length, about 2,000 steps will be approximately 1 mile.  So I thought, oh no problem, I KNOW I walk at least a mile a day.  MORE WRONG!  With my stride length, it takes me approximately 3,000 steps to distance a mile!  OMG!  So I was/am barely walking a mile in one whole day? Well, instead of feeling bad about this, I've decided to turn this around and make something positive about this.  Here's what happened.  When I started Weight Watchers I knew I was going to have to incorporate some type of physical activity into my daily lifestyle and I just figured walking would be the easiest and most economical.  Sooo I found this pedometer that Weight Watchers sells and after you program your info into it, it will actually give you a points value based on your daily or session activity, its all up to you.  Anyhow, it really is a neat little gadget but it really shocked me to see how little physical activity I have in my life.  The first day I wore my pedometer, I barely logged in 3,000 steps!  Thats terrible.  Somewhere, somehow I have become a "sedentary" (curse that word) human being!  Aargh!  How did this happen?  You know when you have to fill out a questionnaire and theres the part where they ask you about your lifestyle, Physically Fit, Active, Sedentary???  I never ever thought that about myself, I always got by putting down moderately active.  I never see myself as sitting there all day.  Sedentary is/was a bad word until now.  Now I know where I am and I dont want to be here.  This pedometer is my new best friend.  It wont do me any favors by fudging the numbers to make me feel better, nope, lol.  So with that I am making it my goal to increase my step count each week and just keep moving up from there. 10,000 here I come!

Monday, September 14, 2009

weighed in

Okay today was a good day.  I weighed in after missing a couple of weeks for various reasons and it wasnt that bad.  I gained .8, thats point 8, so not quite a pound and I am quite pleased with that.Tomorrow I will go back to fulfilling all my daily requirments and make sure that this is part of my goal for this week.  Today I heard a quote and it made alot of sense.  A while back, somewhere in their literature, Weight Watchers posted a quote: "If you dont want to slip, stay away from slippery places". That makes perfect sense doesnt it?  So now I am going to make a plan to stay away from places that make me slip.  How I plan to do this is I am going to make a list of places that I just need to stay away from.  For example, Shakeys Pizza!  I truly love their pizza and mojos and no matter how strong I feel going there, it has never been just 1 slice and how ever many mojos I should have.  I can literally devour a whole medium pizza all by myself!  Grooooosssss, but oh so true.  Hey, I didnt get to be this heavy eating salads and lean/healthy stuff!  Its time to get real.  I need to stop fooling myself and stop letting that little girl inside my head negotiate with me.  She's bad and she has had her way for far too long now.  I am starting to understand that there just has to be some changes and unfortunately, some of them have to be for life and there is nothing I can do about that except accept it and move on.  I mean dont get me wrong, I will eat Shakeys Pizza again, but it will have to be for a very special occasion so that eating there rarely happens rather than me saying "oh come on, its only 1 meal" and then feel the dread that follows. I just think, there are sooo many joys in life and surely it cant all be about food.  When I put it all into perspective, how can I be miserable about not being able to eat Shakeys when there are worse things out there that can harm me? It seems the more I read and learn about food addiction, the more I am convinced that I carry alot of the characteristics.  So with my head in the right place, I am off to an amazing week!  Wish me well!

catching up

Wow, I cant believe it has been 2 weeks since my last post.  I've been out of town.  I've been a little off program and I've been sick, all of which has kept me away, but I'm back now.  I go to weigh in tomorrow evening, so I am feeling a bit anxious about that.  I havent even weighed in here at home and not sure why.  I guess out of sight, out of mind would apply here.  I know I havent fallen too far though because all throughout these past weeks, I have had subjects on my mind that I would like to write about.  Its all very new and strange to me because times before I would just give up and keep falling farther and farther but this time its like an invisible force trying to reel me back in.  I like that!  Its kind of exciting because this has never really happened before.  I am really, truly ready to let these unknown forces take over and help me succeed, ONCE AND FOR ALL!  Tomorrow will be all about RE-committing and gettng back on track 100%.  I am ready. 

Be back tomorrow for an update on my status and maybe some interesting tidbit.